When I was eight, I was addicted to Annie. I'm pretty sure every little girl went through this phase, or at least one similar. Even to this day, sometimes I'll be in a bad mood and dig out my Annie soundtrack and rock out to "Tomorrow".
Except my favorite character wasn't Annie or even Daddy Warbucks, which would at least make sense as the father I always wanted instead of my own. No no no, no normality for me. At the age of eight, my favorite character from Annie was Miss Hannigan.
I don't know why it is, but my favorite characters in almost anything are the bad guys. Maybe I just ate more paste than the rest of the kids or maybe I'm just destined to be the bad guy myself. All I know is that, on my ninth birthday, I decided I wanted to put on a show for my family, and what better to do than sing a song from my favorite movie? So I sang Little Girls and (as a little girl) sang about how much I hated children and wished they were outlawed. And I sang about how much I wanted a man to nibble on my ear (whatever the hell that means as I remember thinking).
My entire family thought that one was pretty funny, but you don't tell a nine year old that a) she can't sing and b) she's singing about how much she hates herself, not when she's as determined/insane and maybe a tad cute as I was.
So I went on for the rest of the year humming that song in my mind. Eventually the Annie phase passed, but sometimes I'll be sitting silently in art class and suddenly break out into song (which always confuses the girl sitting next to me, who happens to be a German exchange student and has never seen Annie).
But even today, my favorite characters are the bad ones. The only death I cried at in the last movie of Harry Potter was Bellatrix. I cried like a baby when she died, while everyone else around me stood up and clapped and whisted and "Woo-Hoo!"-ed.
My favorite character in Beauty and the Beast is the beast, but only before his character is ruined with love sickness for that bitch.
Who gives a crap about Batman (or whoever that superhero is - see, I don't even know!), I love The Joker.
Maybe I'm just a bad guy at heart. Or maybe I just had a little bit too much paste.

No comments:
Post a Comment