So with one day left until November, I realized how scared I actually am of it. I always talk about how excited I am, I always count down the days, I always act like I'm confident in November, but honestly? It scares the poop out of me.
If you're unaware, November is National Novel Writing Month, or as most of us call it, NaNoWriMo, Thirty Days and Nights of Literary Abandon. Basically, the souls of writers explode as they race to write 50,000 words of a very crappy manuscript. At the end, we've written a novel, or most of one anyway, and, although it's just a first draft and filled with typos and cliche characters and bad plots, it's a novel and we're proud (and tired)
I always say that November is my favorite month, aside from July of course (the only month when I'm actually warm), but honestly? It terrifies me. What if I fail? What if my novel is really bad, like worse than a first draft is supposed to be? What if I'm not meant to be a writer? What if I'm not meant to be anything and I can't get a job and I can't pay for food or a house and I die alone on the street?
But if you ask me, I'll probably tell you that I just love November. I mean sure, it's a lot of stress, but writing is FUN. F is for friends who do stuff togeth - Sorry. Habit.
And maybe November will be fun...in December. But until then, wish me luck, readers.
Sunday, October 30, 2011
Saturday, October 22, 2011
I Identify Better With The Bad Guys
When I was eight, I was addicted to Annie. I'm pretty sure every little girl went through this phase, or at least one similar. Even to this day, sometimes I'll be in a bad mood and dig out my Annie soundtrack and rock out to "Tomorrow".
Except my favorite character wasn't Annie or even Daddy Warbucks, which would at least make sense as the father I always wanted instead of my own. No no no, no normality for me. At the age of eight, my favorite character from Annie was Miss Hannigan.
I don't know why it is, but my favorite characters in almost anything are the bad guys. Maybe I just ate more paste than the rest of the kids or maybe I'm just destined to be the bad guy myself. All I know is that, on my ninth birthday, I decided I wanted to put on a show for my family, and what better to do than sing a song from my favorite movie? So I sang Little Girls and (as a little girl) sang about how much I hated children and wished they were outlawed. And I sang about how much I wanted a man to nibble on my ear (whatever the hell that means as I remember thinking).
My entire family thought that one was pretty funny, but you don't tell a nine year old that a) she can't sing and b) she's singing about how much she hates herself, not when she's as determined/insane and maybe a tad cute as I was.
So I went on for the rest of the year humming that song in my mind. Eventually the Annie phase passed, but sometimes I'll be sitting silently in art class and suddenly break out into song (which always confuses the girl sitting next to me, who happens to be a German exchange student and has never seen Annie).
But even today, my favorite characters are the bad ones. The only death I cried at in the last movie of Harry Potter was Bellatrix. I cried like a baby when she died, while everyone else around me stood up and clapped and whisted and "Woo-Hoo!"-ed.
My favorite character in Beauty and the Beast is the beast, but only before his character is ruined with love sickness for that bitch.
Who gives a crap about Batman (or whoever that superhero is - see, I don't even know!), I love The Joker.
Maybe I'm just a bad guy at heart. Or maybe I just had a little bit too much paste.
Except my favorite character wasn't Annie or even Daddy Warbucks, which would at least make sense as the father I always wanted instead of my own. No no no, no normality for me. At the age of eight, my favorite character from Annie was Miss Hannigan.
I don't know why it is, but my favorite characters in almost anything are the bad guys. Maybe I just ate more paste than the rest of the kids or maybe I'm just destined to be the bad guy myself. All I know is that, on my ninth birthday, I decided I wanted to put on a show for my family, and what better to do than sing a song from my favorite movie? So I sang Little Girls and (as a little girl) sang about how much I hated children and wished they were outlawed. And I sang about how much I wanted a man to nibble on my ear (whatever the hell that means as I remember thinking).
My entire family thought that one was pretty funny, but you don't tell a nine year old that a) she can't sing and b) she's singing about how much she hates herself, not when she's as determined/insane and maybe a tad cute as I was.
So I went on for the rest of the year humming that song in my mind. Eventually the Annie phase passed, but sometimes I'll be sitting silently in art class and suddenly break out into song (which always confuses the girl sitting next to me, who happens to be a German exchange student and has never seen Annie).
But even today, my favorite characters are the bad ones. The only death I cried at in the last movie of Harry Potter was Bellatrix. I cried like a baby when she died, while everyone else around me stood up and clapped and whisted and "Woo-Hoo!"-ed.
My favorite character in Beauty and the Beast is the beast, but only before his character is ruined with love sickness for that bitch.
Who gives a crap about Batman (or whoever that superhero is - see, I don't even know!), I love The Joker.
Maybe I'm just a bad guy at heart. Or maybe I just had a little bit too much paste.
Monday, October 17, 2011
Why I Hate Alarm Clocks.
I hate alarm clocks. Sometimes I feel like they just sit their, mocking me as I sleep, singing to themselves, "One more hour and I can ruin your entire day! Mua-ha-ha!" The fact is, alarm clocks were made by evil scientists who wish to rule the world by ruining everyone's day.
And I honestly do blame my alarm clock for ruining my day everyday, as well as the days of my family.
And I honestly do blame my alarm clock for ruining my day everyday, as well as the days of my family.
This is the cycle of my day, everyday:
My alarm clock does not go off, even though I set it the night before,
Because
It's just dumb like that.
So
I do not wake up on time
So
My mum has to wake me up
So
I am grumpy,
Because
I am up late
And
I have to rush
So
My mom is grumpy
Because
I have to rush
So
She yells at my to hurry up
So
I yell back that I'm trying.
So
My dad wakes up and is irritated
So
He yells at my mom to calm down
And
He yells at me to hurry up
So
I yell back
And
My mom yells back
So
My brother wakes up
And
He is also grumpy now
Because
We are all yelling
So
He moves super slowly
And
So on
So
My mum and I finally leave
But
We're both grumpy, along with everyone else in our family
So
I go to school
And
I feel like shit
So
I have a bad day
And
I'm grumpy
And
People are mad that I'm grumpy
So
I get a lot of crap from people
So
I'm even more grumpy
So
I come home
And
I find my mom has also had a bad day
Because
She was grumpy this morning
And
My brother had an even worse day
Because
He has sanity issues and is kinda crazy without being grumpy
But
He was grumpy
And
He went to school
And
He had a shitty day
And
He got in trouble
So
He is probably suspended or something
So
My mom is pissed
And
My dad comes home
And
He also had a bad day
And
Then he hears about my brother
And
He is mad
At the same time
I am online
Because
I'm trying to calm down from my shitty day
But
I have homework and chores
And
They don't get done right away
So
My mum and dad are more mad
So
They yell at my brother and me
So
We yell back
So
We get grounded
Meaning
I can't get online
So
I can't talk to people and get unstress-ified
So
I'm more stressed out
And
I stress everyone else out
So
Everyone is stressed out
And because of this
I forget again to fix my alarm clock before I go to bed.
See how it's the alarm clock's fault. SEE?
Friday, October 14, 2011
My Life Was Just Made.
So a lot of you probably know about the taco thing. If you don't, quick recap: I started this thing a few months ago where my friends can dare me to go someplace while wearing my majorly sexxyy taco costume and I will. I actually have an entire other blog dedicated to my taco adventures which can be found here.
And yes, I've already said this on that blog, but I felt the need to share it again.
So about a week ago, I got on peopleofwalmart.com because my friend dared me to enter myself. See?
So fast foward. Today I got on my bus and my bus driver looked at me and said, "FRANKIE! I am so mad at you!" And then he gave me the stink eye.
Why? Because he was jealous. And why was he jealous? Oh, yeah. 'Cause I'm on Tosh.0's blog. (:
So yeah. My life was just made.
Wednesday, October 12, 2011
I'm In Slytherin.
Whenever I meet a fellow nerd, one of the first questions I'm asked is, "What Hogwarts house are you in?" Actually, this has never happened to me, but in a perfect world, it would right up there with "What's your name?"
But on the few occasions that it is brought up, the answer is always "Slytherin."
And you know what I've come to find? The response to that is a "*GASP!* What's wrong with you?" and then they quickly leave as if I'm about to pull my wand on them or something.
People always assume that everyone in Slytherin is evil. Why is that? I mean yes, some of the evilest of the evil, *cough Tom Riddle *cough* have been from Slytherin, but that doesn't necessarily mean I'm evil. It means I'm cunning and ambitious, the key traits of Slytherin house. We're willing to do what we need to do to achieve what we want to achieve, and sure that can be bad things, but why does it have to be? Why can't we just be the sneaky, slightly sarcastic, epic, sexxyy wizards and witches we are. Why do all those racist Gryffindors have to insist that we're up to no good? You know what?
I'm proud of being Slytherin. I type this with fingers, upon which I have green and silver fingernails. I have my own imaginary wrock band, which I've named Stereotypically Slytherin. My Slytherin tie will be in the mail soon...just as soon as I get the money to order it.
So don't be afraid of us Slytherins. And don't be ashamed of your inner Slytherinness! Everyone's got at least a tad of green and silver in their blood. Come out of your Slytherin closet, you secret Slytherins!
And let's see how many times I can say the word "Slytherin" in one blog post, shall we?
But on the few occasions that it is brought up, the answer is always "Slytherin."
And you know what I've come to find? The response to that is a "*GASP!* What's wrong with you?" and then they quickly leave as if I'm about to pull my wand on them or something.
People always assume that everyone in Slytherin is evil. Why is that? I mean yes, some of the evilest of the evil, *cough Tom Riddle *cough* have been from Slytherin, but that doesn't necessarily mean I'm evil. It means I'm cunning and ambitious, the key traits of Slytherin house. We're willing to do what we need to do to achieve what we want to achieve, and sure that can be bad things, but why does it have to be? Why can't we just be the sneaky, slightly sarcastic, epic, sexxyy wizards and witches we are. Why do all those racist Gryffindors have to insist that we're up to no good? You know what?
I'm proud of being Slytherin. I type this with fingers, upon which I have green and silver fingernails. I have my own imaginary wrock band, which I've named Stereotypically Slytherin. My Slytherin tie will be in the mail soon...just as soon as I get the money to order it.
So don't be afraid of us Slytherins. And don't be ashamed of your inner Slytherinness! Everyone's got at least a tad of green and silver in their blood. Come out of your Slytherin closet, you secret Slytherins!
And let's see how many times I can say the word "Slytherin" in one blog post, shall we?
Tuesday, October 11, 2011
Unrealistic Commercials
Most people hate commercial breaks. Why must they ruin perfectly tv shows with dumb messages from the sponsor?
But honestly? I love commercials. Actually, hold on. Lemme rephrase that. I love good commercials. Some of my favorite ones include the Doritos Superbowl commercials (I can't even tell you which one - they're all just that good), the Sundrop commercial, which actually made me go out and buy Sundrop, and, my personal favorite, the Auto State "Danger" Commercials.
"I'm all, OMG, Becky's not even hot!"
So honestly, I don't mind commercial breaks all that much. But when there's that one bad commercial, the one so stupid it makes you want to punch a whole in your television... uhhhhh. And that one commercial for me is the Keebler's cookie commercial.
But honestly? I love commercials. Actually, hold on. Lemme rephrase that. I love good commercials. Some of my favorite ones include the Doritos Superbowl commercials (I can't even tell you which one - they're all just that good), the Sundrop commercial, which actually made me go out and buy Sundrop, and, my personal favorite, the Auto State "Danger" Commercials.
"I'm all, OMG, Becky's not even hot!"
So honestly, I don't mind commercial breaks all that much. But when there's that one bad commercial, the one so stupid it makes you want to punch a whole in your television... uhhhhh. And that one commercial for me is the Keebler's cookie commercial.
I mean...come on. WHO LEAVES ONE COOKIE IN THE COOKIE TRAY? You just eat the darn thing and throw it away. It takes way too much effort to put the thing away when you can just nom nom nom on that last cookie and toss the thing.
Whenever I complain, my mom points out that the cookie-making elves aren't exactly that realistic either. So now, not only am I majorly pissed at the stupidity of these commercials, but all my hopes and dreams about elves were just smashed.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)






